Carnifex Ferry Battlefield State Park

Near Summersville, entrance 6 miles from U.S. RouteĀ 19
Map

Federal troops pushed Confederates from their fortifications here Sept 10, 1861. This battle, coupled with lack of success at Cheat Mountain to the east, ended Confederate efforts to regain control of the western part of Virginia. A number of interpreted trails, some overlooking the Gauley River, are available for hikers.

Open daylight hours. The Patterson House Museum is open weekends seasonally. Free.

304-872-0825
carnifexferrybattlefieldstatepark.com